Teenager

Finally after years of hearing how hard it would be once I have a teenager in the house (forget about when I have two) I now have one.  And yes, some days it is hard, because he is smart and can be as stubborn as I was at that age.  And like all teenagers, he does not know what is best for him in the long run (no, eating starch and sugar all day is not a good choice for life) and yet he is tired of being told what to do.  So I am trying to let go but it is not easy for a control freak like me.  When I am having a particularly hard time I remember that by AGE 18 he should be able to be completely self sufficient in every way.  That’s right, I had better get crackin’. Most of the time though I just enjoy his company, when he is willing to talk to me, and marvel that he still wants to share things with me.  I know those days will be gone too soon. His younger brother misses the company of a boy who used to get down on the floor and play with him, but he’ll be in the same place in no time.

3 Responses to “Teenager”

  1. I, too, enjoy the company of my teen. Although she is losing interest in me pretty quickly.

Leave a Reply

